Tags

, , , , , ,

Brothers and sisters, I’ve just had the privilege of viewing the amazing film, “Selma”. As I witnessed the story of our brave brothers and sisters who stood to demand our constitutional right to vote, I wept. My spirit was overjoyed and filled with an indescribable feeling of pride as I bore witness to the scene of those standing together, arm in arm, marching across the Edmund Pettus Bridge. Just the thought of them caring enough for me, my future, my children’s future, my neighbor’s future, touched my heart so. I thank you, brothers and sisters, for standing on truth and in the name of humanity so that all of us here in America can have the right to equality and justice. Thank you, Father, for strengthening our brothers and sisters with the courage to overcome and be victorious.

Yet, as I witnessed the film, the only other thought that plagued my mind is that our struggle is not over. Just as our brothers and sisters over fifty years ago understood there was a need to stand, I and many others understand today our struggle is not over.

Today as we observe our world around us, there is still a need to stand in the struggle against mass incarceration, police brutality, inequality in our education system, women’s rights, corruption in our democracy and preserving our right to vote. There is a need to stand in the struggle for the sake of our children, our neighbors and our future.

A wise young man, M. K. Asante, spoke these words a few Sundays ago at a worship service at my church, “Observation Leads to Obligation.” In other words, when you witness an injustice, it then becomes your responsibility to stand and right that wrong.

We have a great deal wrong in America.

So, I pose to you my brothers and sisters, what have you observed? What injustices do you bear witness to in our daily lives?

Is it not time for us to stand for ourselves, our children, our neighbors and our future?

Brothers and sisters, make no mistake, it is now our responsibility!

Peace and many Blessings,

La Royce

